PUBLISHER’S CORNER: Growing Up Too Fast

11 Aug

 

 

Recently, I took my 7 year old daughter “bra” shopping in the girl section of Target.  Not that she has a set like her mother (smile), but she is actually growing a set.  My husband was shaking his head in denial spouting that he saw nothing, and that I was crazy.  My mother (I imagine she shook her head as well) just said softly, “Oh no…”  My daughter was happy with her new “bras”, but apparently no one else was excited about her change.  48 hours after our shopping trip, I read an article about young girls hitting puberty at 7 and 8 years of age.  Needless to say, I devoured the article wanting to know why, how, when, and who.

 Recently published in Pediatrics, a study of 1239 young ladies found that at the age of 7 10% of Caucasian, 23% of African American, and 14% of Hispanic girls where beginning to develop breasts.  Among the 8 year old group in the study, it was determined that 18% Caucasian, 42% African American, and 30% Hispanic girls were developing breasts.  Of course the study links the increase in numbers to the rising level of obesity among children and environmental chemicals found in items we use everyday.

 After reading the particulars of the study, I was suddenly….ashamed.  For the last 7 years, I had fed my child fruits, veggies, candy, meats, cheese, bottled water, and so on and it never once occurred to me the harm it could potentially do.  When our daughters play in our make-up or drink water from a plastic bottle do we ever stop and think Wait!  What’s in this?  Or when we grab an apple the size of Shaq’s fist, do we stop and think Wait! Should an apple really be this big?  The hormones and the chemicals that are pumped into our everyday lives are having an effect on us as well as our children.

 I will never know if my daughter is sprouting boobs because of the chicken she ate last night or the blush she played in yesterday, but what I know now will change what I allow in my home tomorrow.  The next time you get the chance, really take a look at the labels on your foods, cleaning products, and toiletries.  Can you pronounce the ingredients?  If not, look them up and see exactly what they are before you introduce it to your family—I know I will.  

Always Love,

Sommer J

One Response to “PUBLISHER’S CORNER: Growing Up Too Fast”

  1. Rosalyn August 11, 2010 at 9:10 PM #

    Interesting & true. We should stop, look,think and research. Our girls are developing earlier than we did. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

