A Fat Girl’s Heated Response

17 Aug

THE RESPONSE

There is more to being overweight than just sitting around eating all damn day, you pretentious shit.  Yes, I will give you that there are some overweight people waddling about due to laziness and lack of self care.  Others are overweight because they have medical issues or lack of income.  Yes, for those of you who are able to shop at Whole Foods or Trader Joes and eat out atAtlanta’s most delectable restaurants, there are some people who can’t afford to do the same.  There are some people who have to feed themselves and/or their families on a limited budget.  Most often it is easier to buy a bag of burgers vs. a bag of apples.  Not everyone has access to cushy gyms or super-trainers.  Not everyone feels comfortable walking on a treadmill next to some skinny chic running an effing 5 minute mile.

Do you honestly think that fat people enjoy being fat?  Do you honestly think that being overweight is fun?  Do you think that they have no idea they are fat?  Do you know how many times a husband, wife, mother, father, sister, brother, friend, and/or perfect stranger has commented on their fat?  For most people it is a prison from which there may not be an escape.  Hell yea, overweight people get annoyed when they are stared at or laughed at—wouldn’t you?  Would you say that about a disabled person or an ugly person?  Of course not because “they can’t help that”.  Well for some overweight people it can’t be helped. 

What kills me is that everyone is so “concerned” yet no one is bothering to help fix the problem.  No one is making these food companies accountable. No one is making these grocery stores accountable.  No one is making it easier for people to eat what they should.  I am not saying fight the fat people’s fight…hell no…I can do that my damn self, but I am saying instead of being a jackass about it, perhaps you should help us to figure out what to do.  Being overweight goes so much deeper than you obviously care to know, but perhaps trying to understand something before you open your big fat mouth to spew such harsh words would be wise.   

And before you assume that I am just some overweight bitch hiding behind a keyboard, I will just tell you that I am overweight (and slightly bitchie–but certainly not hiding).  Let me also mention that I workout 6 days per week, finished Insanity, run a 10k, trained (and will run) for a half marathon, count every calorie that goes into my mouth, and have lost 46 pounds thus far and plan to keep on going.  But I suppose if you saw my 5’6” 240 pound frame you would assume I am a lazy fat ass too.

 THE EDITORIAL

“I’m frustrated with political correctness when it comes to overweight people. This whole situation with Delta Airelines is ridiculous. Delta, you don’t even think about asking the overweight person to grab a later flight? The healthy, skinny person is penalized?

Excuse me? Time for honesty. Haven’t most overweight people gorged themselves? You make choices to eat poorly and NOT exercise. But you want me to feel sorry for you? Do something about it….(Click to finish reading here)

6 Responses to “A Fat Girl’s Heated Response”

  1. sinnaone1 August 18, 2011 at 1:33 AM #

    I really want to say I felt moved when reading your blog, so much so that I had to have my sister read it too, and we wouldboth like to know if we can workout with you or you can be our trainer (wishful thinking) my sister wanted you to know that you both are around the same weight and height, and she said you should try Shakeology, it’s very good.

    • geminimagazine August 18, 2011 at 9:01 AM #

      I would be honored 🙂 Not sure if I can train anyone though…I still like cake too much. Hahahahaha Let’s do it! Let’s get moving and change not only ourselves but those around us.

  2. Rosalyn August 18, 2011 at 3:31 PM #

    Let the church say AAAAAAAmen! Oh wait, maybe i shouldnt say church with all of that profanity. Lol, oh well…you hit the nail right on the head 😀

  3. sinnaone1 August 18, 2011 at 3:43 PM #

    Great, we all love some cake and there is no shame in it, do you mind sharing your routine so I can try to do it. Thank you

    • geminimagazine August 25, 2011 at 5:34 AM #

      What I have done is broken down each step I have taken and it will be posted to the blog every Monday. The short version of what I do, though, is I work out 5-6 days per week (Turbofire, Insanity, Tae Bo, etc), run about 2-3 miles 4-6 days per week , eat about 1500-1600 calories per day, 5-6 meals per day, and log EVERYTHING I eat. I use http://www.myfitnesspal.com (I’m Road2Peachtree if you decide to join). I hope that helps 🙂

      • sinnaone1 August 26, 2011 at 12:22 PM #

        Thank you for responding, my sister was like you should be a tooth pick doing the routine that you do, I said no remember that you like cake to much lol, anyway she would like to email you if thats ok, her ipad can not download wordpress for some reason, she is a RN and takes it with her for down time at work. She wanted to know your email address. I will join the site you mentioned definitely. Have a great day! In words of encouragement NO CAKE today Sonrisa!(Smile) my sisters email is rflowers5@aol.com

Leave a Reply

