A Diet Book For 6 – 12 Year Olds

19 Aug

Being insanely obsessed with my Evo and a new twitter app, every time it rings, chimes or dings I have to stop what I am doing and pick it up. In mid-shoe tie, suited up for an incredibly insane round of Turbofire, I stopped what I was doing and sat in awe as I read about the upcoming 44 page hardcover book, Maggie Goes On A Diet.

Before I go on an all out rant, I would like to just say this–I feel very very strongly about the overweight citizens in our society.  I am one.  I feel that there are things we need to do, getting up and out is one of them, but there are ways to go about bringing a change.  I am not quite sure teaching pre-teens that being overweight means being unhappy is the way to bring about the change.

The synopsis of the book goes a little like this:  This book is about a 14 year old girl who goes on a diet and is transformed from being extremely overweight and insecure to a normal sized girl who becomes the school soccer star. Through time, exercise and hard work, Maggie becomes more and more confident and develops a positive self image.

I have not read the book—it isn’t out just yet—so I can’t really have an educated opinion about it, but I can have an educated opinion about what it is like to be a fat kid.  I wore a size 18 in the 5th grade.  I would go school shopping sad and discouraged, often times crying in the dressing room because nothing I liked fit (not much different from my life a year ago).  My closet was filled with tee shirts 2 sizes too big and jeans (yea…again…not much different than a year ago).  Being called names like “pudgy”, “solid”, and “chubby” were not exactly my idea of terms of endearment.  A book like this wouldn’t have made things any better.

I will be buying the book, or at least finding the nearest bookstore and sneaking a read (not sure I can bring myself to actually spend the money on it).  I am interested to see the sales numbers on this book when it is released October 16th of this year.  I am also interested to see how it is written and learn why.  Clearly, in this case, it is easy to judge a book by its cover—and as tempting as it is to do, I can’t.  That would not be fair to the author Paul M. Kramer.  What I can say, and do, is continue to promote healthy living by being the best example I know how.  So, with that I leave you to go check out the book for yourself while I reduce myself to a pool of sweat.

One Response to “A Diet Book For 6 – 12 Year Olds”

  1. hotshot bald cop August 30, 2011 at 1:14 PM #

    Excellent blog!

Leave a Reply

