Week 2: Gooooaaaallll!

5 Sep

(Ok, I’ll give it to you–that title is pretty corny, but I was really trying) A few weeks ago, I shared my personal steps to weight loss with you.  This week I would like to discuss the first step.  So, to recap for those who don’t regularly read my ramblings, I will summarize the journey.

I realized I was fat months prior to making a goal when I got on the scale and it read 293.  I threw the scale away claiming it was old…and wrong.  A few months later, I began to feel sick, sluggish, headachey, and a touch dizzy.  I soon found myself seated in the doctor’s office with a bp cuff on my arm.  Ultimately the doc gave me a perscription for a water pill (which would change to bp medication if the water pill didn’t work–eeek. I hate meds) and broached the subject of doing  lap band surgery.  The lap band surgery suggestion was a punch in my 53inch gut (actually, it was the insurance company saying they wouldn’t pay for it that hurt the most).

With bp issues, diabetes, cholesterol, and heart troubles floating around in my family history, I decided to make a change…but how?  Losing weight had never really worked–well, stuck–before and I didn’t really have the patience to deal with the constant cake vs. no cake tug of war again (cake always wins…no matter what). “Screw the scale! Screw the rabbit food! Screw the never ending ‘I can’t have’!” I said thrusting my chubby fist in the air–I would make a goal instead.

My goal was to run the Peachtree. Your goal may be different.  At the time I made the goal, running a 10k (6.2 miles) felt almost like a superhuman aspiration.  I had 38 weeks to pull off an impossible (or seemingly impossible) goal.  Needless to say, the goal wasn’t impossible and yours won’t be either.  In order to really change your life, you have to peel back the layers.  Making a goal for yourself, no matter how silly it may seem, is just one way to begin peeling the layers back.

THIS WEEK’S CHALLENGES

DREAM BIGDiets suck.  The focus of your efforts should not be on the weight you need to lose (and which plan you should try next).  The focus should be on an ‘impossible’ goal.  This week, I want you to think big (no pun intended) and reach really, really high. Share your goals. I would love to hear them.  This might seem like a lame first step, but I promise you it will push you to do amazing things.

REMEMBER — Drink at least 64 oz of water per day and get moving for 30 minutes, 3 days this week. We will worry about food a little later. 

4 Responses to “Week 2: Gooooaaaallll!”

  1. rosalyn September 5, 2011 at 11:11 AM #

    I will drink more water (if that’s even possible) & exercise for at least 90 minutes a week (if that’s even possible ).

    • geminimagazine September 5, 2011 at 4:11 PM #

      LOL That’s totally possible. You can do it! 90 min a week is only 30 min for either 3 days OR 15 min for 6 days. You can do it!

  2. sinnaone1 September 5, 2011 at 1:53 PM #

    I do not think its lame, I only wish I had your enthusiasm! I use to be a person who lived in a gym and ate healthy, I somewhat still do eat healthy and I do drink plenty of water, but I would have to say for my goal, it will be one of two things which are 1.Get the Motivation to 2.Get on all of the available equipment in the house. I know that’s bad

    • geminimagazine September 5, 2011 at 4:15 PM #

      LOL I love both of your goals. The motivation part is harsh, especially when we are use to just sitting around BUT once it becomes a habit you will feel weird not doing it. Sometimes it just takes a little doing some out of the ordinary type of stuff. This morning the kids and I put on rain ponchos and ran in the rain. IT WAS A BLAST! Oh oh oh! Belly dancing is super fun. I love doing that for a quick easy mini sweat.

Leave a Reply

