Week 3: A Course In Weight Loss

12 Sep

Imagine [the] excess weight as a brick wall you are carrying around.  This wall has been built by your subconscious mind; its purpose is to separate you from other people and from life itself. Your fear has built the wall, and love will tear it down.” Those 3 small sentences changed my life forever and for the next week I walked around in a stupor wondering why I had never thought of my weight that way before.  I spent most of my free time devouring books and magazines on health, running, fitness, and (you guessed it) food.  Somewhere I ran across a green book that would change how I felt about the weight I carried.  A Course In Weight Loss (by Marianne Williamson) saved my life.

You go on a diet. You say to yourself, “Monday is the day! No more fat pants. No more sitting still. No more eating things that aren’t good for me.  Just me, my tennis shoes, and a bowl of salad.”  By Thursday you are hoovering through a bag of chips or a carton of ice cream.  You tell yourself there is no point. “Why bother?”  For the next few days you eat whatever you see and by Sunday you are either throwing your scale away or declaring to do it again.  Perhaps you do it again via a weight loss program or buddy up thinking that this time it will work.  Yea…I’m here to tell you that you’re loony.  It will never ever work.  

Becoming a healthier person and really controlling how you use food is all about why you hide yourself from the world.  So no matter how much money you spend or how much weight you think you can lose, you will always be carrying that “brick wall”.  I began to no longer feel comfortable with what I was carrying and I really, truly faced what it was.  That’s when the change began.

So many times I have shoved food in my mouth because I was sad, lonely, happy, upset or bored.  So many times I ate because I was feeling things I couldn’t even identify. I now had a better understanding of why I had tried and failed so many times, and I vowed to tear down that stupid wall once and for all.  With the help of true understanding (on my part), the book, the lessons, and the small prayers at the end of each lesson (life…changing), I changed day by day.  Today I am able to identify why I am craving a  box of Dunkin’ Donuts.  Today I am able to really deal with what is happening instead of covering it up with food.

The weight you are seeking to let go of was added to your [mind] before it was added to your body.  Your body is merely a screen onto which is projected the nature of your thoughts. When the weight is gone from your [mind], it will be gone from your physical experience.”  Yea, girl. Let that sink all the way in.

THIS WEEK’S CHALLENGE:

DEAL WITH ITTake a step back and just deal with the weight on your mind. It will be harsh, there’s no doubt about that.  Below are a few words Marianne used in the book for the reader to identify each “brick”. This week, take a long look at each word and ask yourself if it represents a thought, emotion, or character flaw.  Write down the details and sit with it.  Close your eyes and picture your wall with each brick identified by the words that follow.  Reach your hands out, touch each brick and watch the wall crumble before your eyes.

Shame, Anger, Fear, Unforgiveness, Judgment, Disdain, Excess Responsibility, Pressure, Exhaustion, Burden, Stress, Heartbreak, Injustice, Protection, Pride, Selfishness, Jealousy, Greed, Laziness, Separation, Dishonesty, Arrogance, Inferiority, Embarrassment, Self-abnegation.

REMEMBERDrink your H2O, 64 oz and move your body 30 minutes, 3 days this week.

2 Responses to “Week 3: A Course In Weight Loss”

  1. T Staton September 19, 2011 at 11:11 AM #

    After reading your post last week, and relating to the brick wall of weight. I went to the library and picked up this book. So far I love it. I am on the first chapter, where I am going through the all the things that have created that wall and really see it for the first time for what it is. This process is not easy because you have to be honest with yourself and see all those things that have hurt you, or contributed to the weight gain.

    I thank you for bring this book to my attention. I love your blog.

    • geminimagazine September 19, 2011 at 8:31 PM #

      Isn’t it a powerful book? It’s a keep forever kind of book. I’m so glad one post was able to really reach someone. That’s really all this particular series is about.

Leave a Reply

