Week 5: Get Real

26 Sep

The day I threw out the scale, I declared that I just didn’t need it. The number that glared at me from between my feet was too close to 300lbs, therefore it must have been wrong.  Besides, I told myself, digital scales have expiration dates or something. They don’t last forever. (Yea, I know–I called b.s. on that one too once I wised up)  After months of moving and making better food decisions, I knew it was time to face the numbers again.This time when I looked at the numbers, I knew I would  have to came to grips with that being my place.

A lot of the journey through Healthyland is about just being real. No, I didn’t like the numbers I saw. No I didn’t like the measurements I took, but they were mine. I owned them. All of the cake, doughnuts, cookies, soda, pasta, cheese, butter, and fast food I put in my body belonged to me.  In order to get real and keep my tennis shoes on the ground, I had to let my inner healthy chic speak really candidly to my outer big chic (with love of course). She wrote a letter to me, and as crazy as it sounds, it really helped.

Dear Big Chic,

As your friend, I want to say that there are no hard feelings for putting us in this place.  I know it’s rough. I know food is your constant, but what I also know is that it’s time for a change. Your way of doing things just isn’t working and I think it’s time that you let me have the reigns for a bit.  There are some things I need you to know about the journey we are going to take together. Remember–this is out of love (smile).

(1) The scale doesn’t lie. Yes, there is such a thing as water weight, but honey you aren’t carrying 100lbs of water weight. Just sayin’.

(2)You are not Beyonce’s twin. No matter how much working out you do or how much weight you drop it will never happen. You will look like you–just less of you.

(3)Sweat is your friend.  You can’t ever ever ever ever lose it without moving your body. Period. You are not lazy, just a little side tracked is all.

(4)Weight loss does not equal happiness. Just because you lose pounds doesn’t mean you’ll lose the unhappy. Work on the icky stuff first.

(5)No diet soda, fat free, and sugar free are not your friends. They only make you fatter.

(6)Yes, that was your fat ass that you just saw in the mirror and yes, your stomach really is that big. Look at it, jiggle it, laugh at it, and then hug it because it is all a part of you.

(7)You aren’t perfect. Yes, I know you are having a hard time with this one, but it is the truth.

(8)You can’t control everything. Again…I know you may have a hard time with this one, but it is the truth. You tried to control emotions and people by holding them at bay with–you guessed it–food and how has that worked for you so far?  Mmmhm, I thought so.

(9)Friends, family and strangers do not, I repeat do not, want to hear about how they should not eat or drink this or that. Please don’t be one of those people.

(10)Fat, Obese, and Overweight are just words and yes you are all of the above, but that’s ok because it doesn’t make you who you are. Love who you are not the labels others (and you) may put on you.

Where you are weak, I will be strong. We are in this thing together and we can be better, but you are going to have to trust me. Remember #8? Yea, that applies in this situation.

With Love, The Healthy Chic

THIS WEEK’S CHALLENGE:

TALK TO YOURSELF — It sounds super crazy, but do it.  Write a list of things that you know to be true.  Often times we know the truth but we never want to fully admit it. Be honest, be real, and be positive.

BE A VISIONARY — This week, scour magazines, newspapers, and websites for delicious foods that nourish the body along with things and places that instantly de-stress.  After you are all finished, place the vision board in a place you will see it to remind you of how to feed your body, mind and spirit.  NOTE: Your vision board can be created on the computer and printed out if that works best or you can get down and dirty with the glue and scissors—kindergarten style.

2 Responses to “Week 5: Get Real”

  1. curvycoach September 27, 2011 at 10:18 AM #

    Great post and very honest! I actually did both of these exercises. I have a vision board and I took a picture of it to keep it as my phone’s background. I also wrote letters as part of the “A Course in Weight Loss” book. You’re on an amazing journey, thanks for sharing, and keep up the good work!

    • geminimagazine September 29, 2011 at 12:01 PM #

      Oh I’m so glad you did the exercises! They really do help to center you and get you moving in the right direction–whether it’s to drop a pound or two or to just live healthier. Thanks so much for the support!

Leave a Reply

